Welcome  Guest   
Latest News

Darwin Supersprint Preview

15 Jun, 2018

Whilst the cool of Winter is well and truly kicking in down south, Team CoolDrive return to the top end of Australia for one of the hottest events of the year; the Darwin Triple Crown at Hidden Valley Raceway.

Tim and the Team CoolDrive Supercar have shown good speed here, finishing 12th & 21st in last years’ races. The Darwin track is traditionally strong for the Brad Jones Racing stable, with team drivers finishing on the podium the last 4 years in a row, and on occasion having all three cars finish in the top ten.

Still, no driver has claimed the Darwin Triple Crown, which consists winning the Top Ten Shootout and two races. Will someone finally achieve that feat this weekend…? Stay tuned to find out! All sessions will be LIVE on FOX Sports across the weekend, with highlights packages on Channel Ten/One HD. Check your local guides for times.


Friday 15th June

12:00 - 12:45 – Practice One

15:10 - 15:55 – Practice Two

Saturday 16th June

10:50 - 11:35 – Practice Three

13:05 - 13:20 – Qualifying

16:15 - 17:15 – Race 15 – 120kms/42 Laps

Sunday 17th June

9:25 - 9:45 – Qualifying

10:45 - 11:15 – Top Ten Shootout

13:30 - 15:05 – Race 16 – 200kms/70 Laps


- Track Length – 2.9km // Direction – Anti-Clockwise // Fastest Speed – 275km/h // Average Speed – 150km/h

- Qualifying Lap Record – 1m05.6806s, Scott McLaughlin, DJR Team Penske, 2017, Ford Falcon FGX

- Race Lap Record – 1m06.6747s, Scott McLaughlin, DJR Team Penske, 2017, Ford Falcon FGX
- Tim had his best Darwin finish here in 2017 – 12th

- 11 different drivers in the 2018 field have won Supercars races in Darwin

- Tim ran here as a wild card entrant in the V8 ute series in 2011. He finished 14th overall in the pack of 32 cars.

- 17 is the number of races won from pole position in Darwin. However its not the most common starting position for race winners at the Hidden Valley circuit – its actually 2nd place on the grid that has produced the most winners – 19 in total.

- Nine different drivers have won the last nine races in Darwin. Since 2014 the wins have been shared between Whincup, Winterbottom, Mostert, Lowndes, Reynolds, Caruso, van Gisbergen, Coulthard and McLaughlin. 


Thursday 14th June

11:30-12:30 – Supercars Autograph Session @ Raintree Park, Smith Street

17:45-18:45 – Supercars Autograph Session @ Mindil Beach

Friday 15th June

10:00 – Autograph Session @ Merchandise Alley

Saturday 16th June

8:55 – 9:25 – Super Track Walk, Starting Grid

Sunday 17th June

11:45 - Autograph Session @ Merchandise Alley

« Back to Latest News | Back to the top